District Court

District Court

Mille Lacs Band Court of Central Jurisdiction

The Tribal Court consists of a Court of Appeals and a District Court. The Appeals Court consists of an Associate Justice from each of the Reservation’s three districts, one of these being the Chief Justice. The Appeals Court handles any appeals from the District Court, which is presided over by the District Court Judge. The District Court hears all civil cases, including traffic and natural resource violations, small claims, family cases, juvenile justice cases, and more. All justices are appointed by the Band’s Chief Executive and ratified by the Band Assembly to serve six-year terms.

Address

43408 Oodena Drive
Onamia, MN 56359
Get Directions
320-532-7400
Fax: 320-532-3153

During inclement weather, please call 1-800-709-6445 to determine if the Government Center is closed or has a delay opening. If the government center is closed due to inclement weather, the Tribal Court will also be closed. If this occurs, the cases on the calendar for the day will be rescheduled and notices will be sent. When the Mille Lacs Band Government Center is delayed for opening, such as a two-hour late start, any cases scheduled prior to that will be heard upon opening.

Judges

Honorable Richard Osburn
District Court Judge

.

Vacant
Associate District Court Judge

Court Staff

Gilda Burr
Court Administrator
gilda.burr@millelacsband.com
320-532-7401

Brett Haskin
Bailiff Officer/Process Server
brett.haskin@millelacsband.com
320-532-7758

Kristine Starr
Clerk of Court I — Adoption, Child Support, Dissolution of Marriage, Adult Guardianship, Name Change, and Probate
Kristine.Starr@millelacsband.com
320-532-7553

Melissa Taylor
Court Clerk II — Custody, Child Guardianship, and Welfare
melissa.taylor@millelacsband.com
320-532-7404

.

Jill Tompkins
Court Attorney
jill.tompkins@millelacsband.com
320-532-7597

Theresa James
Healing to Wellness Court Case Manager
theresa.james@milllacsband.com
320-532-7597

Vacant
Assistant Court & Administrative Clerk
320-532-7400

Carrie Boyd
Court Clerk I — Civil, Order for Protection, Harassment, Garnishments, Electric, GRA Appeals, and Employment Appeals
carrie.boyd@millelacsband.com
320-532-7400

.

Kitty Johnson
Court Clerk II — Truancy, Unlawful Detainers, Criminal, Natural Resource, Traffic, and Court of Appeals
Kitty.Johnson2@millelacsband.com
320-532-7502

Laurie Vilas
Tribal Court Peacemaker
Laurie.Vilas@millelacsband.com
320-532-4769
320-630-1132

Special Magistrate
B.J. Jones
Joe Plumer
Tammy Swanson

Guardian ad Litem
Dixie Kamimura
Pam Chichila
Jessica Gilder-Schwartz
Jeannie Reams
Cynthia Bahe

UNDERSTANDING SERVICE OF PROCESS

Please watch the video below if you are trying to file a new court case or a motion. Normally, serving all parties is the responsibility of the petitioner when a new case is filed, but when filing a case in Tribal Court, our Bailiff/Process Server will serve the paperwork if there is a current address listed. However, our Bailiff/Process Server will not serve Motion forms. Any Motions filed must be accomplished by the motioning party.

Get in the Circle (PSA) from State Courts on Vimeo.